R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VII Wrap-up

Well, another October is over, thus ending the R.I.P. VII event at Stainless Steel Droppings.

This event asked participants to read books from the following genres:

  • Mystery.
  • Suspense.
  • Thriller.
  • Dark Fantasy.
  • Gothic.
  • Horror.
  • Supernatural.
  • Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

My goals were to read at least two novels and some short stories that fit the criteria. Happily, I managed to exceed my expectations! Here’s what I read:

  1. Seanan McGuire, Ashes of Honor (fantasy/supernatural)
  2. Susanna Clarke, The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories (gothic, dark fantasy, short stories)
  3. Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book (dark fantasy/horror)
  4. Dashiell Hammett, The Maltese Falcon (mystery/thriller)
  5. Maggie Stiefvater, The Raven Boys (fantasy/supernatural)
  6. Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl (thriller)

So I’m pleased with my perilous reading this fall and look forward to next year’s R.I.P. event! What did you read?

4 thoughts on “R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VII Wrap-up

  1. cherylmahoney says:

    Great reading! I contrived to read a couple mysteries, and had great fun with both Northanger Abbey and The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland. Congrats on succeeding with your goals!

Leave a comment