Review: The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie StiefvaterMaggie Stiefvater, The Raven Boys

In a household full of witches, psychics, and otherwise supernaturally gifted women, Blue Sargent is the only one with no powers of her own. She does, however, possess a gift for strengthening other people’s magic; so every year on St. Mark’s Eve, she goes with her mother to a certain church to count the dead as they pass by. Blue has never seen the spirits before, so this time she is shocked to notice a boy about her age walking past the church. He’s wearing an Aglionby sweater, which marks him as a student at the local fancy prep school, a Raven boy. Blue is troubled by her vision because the boy’s presence on this path means he’ll die within the year. When she meets the Aglionby boy and his friends in person, she decides to try to prevent the boy’s death and help him on his own magical quest.

I feel like I didn’t do a very good job of explaining this book, because there are a lot of things going on. Blue is one of the main characters, but the book also spends a lot of time with each of the four Raven boys (the one Blue saw and his three best friends). So we learn a lot about the boys’ pasts, their various problems, and their quest to find the lost body of the Welsh king Owen Glendower. As a result of the scattered focus, nothing is covered in very much depth. I learned just enough about the characters to grow attached to them and become curious about their fates, but there’s a lot left to be resolved. The book’s pace is fairly slow, which fits with Stiefvater’s reflective style of writing. The romantic element of this book, though present, is very low-key; I imagine it will be more prevalent in later books in the series. Overall, this book didn’t blow me away like The Scorpio Races did, but I still really enjoyed it and look forward to reading more by Maggie Stiefvater.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Raven Boys

  1. thelibrarianreads says:

    Hey, found you via the RIP link-up. I just finished this one too. I agree that it’s a little slower (and I’m a little slower) to get involved in the characters and actual plot action. I’m keeping the faith since it’s a planned 4 book series that this book was just the intro. I’m really interested in the myth part of the tale, but I think you hit it on the head when you said that you got to know the characters “just enough” to become attached. I don’t love or care about them yet…but they interest me enough to stick around. *Fingers Crossed* book two continues to build…

    • Christina says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

      This book did feel very much like an intro to me. I hope that subsequent books will go into more depth on the various characters so that I can really get invested in them. I do care about them (especially Ronan, who for some reason was my favorite), but I need to know a lot more! Any idea when the next book is coming out? A quick Google revealed nothing.

      • thelibrarianreads says:

        Yes! Google is silent on the second book. I want the projected release date now!! lol. And I think I’m most interested in Ronan b/c he’s hot. Ha. My bookish bff says it’s still a little creepy to say a fictional high school student is hot – but alas, he still kind of is. I think Calla agrees with me, no?

    • Christina says:

      I have been very impressed with Stiefvater thus far. Granted, I’ve only read this book and The Scorpio Races, but I really liked both (and LOVED Scorpio!). So I also plan to read more of her work. Looking forward to seeing your thoughts on Lament!

Leave a comment